A Speck and a Plank

“And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye?…Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” ‭‭[Matthew‬ ‭7:3, 5‬]

Last night, I was outraged at my friends’ unavailability and unintentionality. I saw how it’s evident that this friendship wasn’t reciprocal, that some were putting in much more effort than others and that clearly not everyone prioritized one another. I even labeled them, in Moses’ words, “a stiff-necked people” whom I felt like simply giving up on.

Multiple times.

Then the Lord reminded me that I’m guilty of making the same mistake. It’s quite clear that Hope Church isn’t very high on my priority list, or at least the special events like conferences and camps, as I have lost sight of their value. Yet, my cell leader and mentor kept showing me grace in spite of my stiff-necked attitude to church.

Multiple times.

How can I remove the speck in the eyes of my brethren if if have a giant plank in mine? The fact is we are all struggling and growing together in this Christian walk, even when things get incredibly tough. It’s times like these when, after we release that anger, we find forgiveness and grace to show grace to our offenders.

Multiple times.

—Joel Kindiak, 27 May 2017, 0748H

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

