Jesus, My Warrior

Based on my experience, it first takes a revelation. A spiritual ‘eureka’ moment, be it the unlimitedness of His grace or the unbendability of His truth. Once a revelation struck me, namely that I was accepted not by what I did but by what Jesus did for me, I knew my life couldn’t stay the same.
I went home and filled my iPhone with only Christian songs. The reason is because I wanted to let whatever I listen to remind me about Jesus and point me to Him. I chose to make Him the centre of my life.

When that decision was made, the devil attacked HARD. He condemns and accuses and blames me for everything, making me view myself, a child of the Lord Most High, as worthless and filthy as trash. But in this struggle I eventually had another revelation—that God was fighting even this spiritual battle for me. I just need to keep my eye on Him. Ignore all the other thoughts. Block out the condemnation and accusation. Focus on His promises for me:

  • Accepted in the Beloved (Eph 1:6)
  • Righteous in Christ (2 Cor 5:21)
  • True self found in Christ (1 John 4:17)
  • God is on my side (Rom 8:31)
  • God is fighting my battles for me (Deut 1:30)
  • Nothing can separate me from His love (Rom 8:39)
  • He is always with me and will never forsake me (Heb 13:5)

As Jesus enters and takes centre place of my life, the things around me fade away. The desires I once had so much slowly faded away as God gradually gives me newer desires that build people up and point us to Christ.

Resist the enemy and He will flee. The way we fight is not by trying, but by retreating to the Rock of all ages, the Fortress in times of trouble! We fight by fleeing away and running to Jesus! He will fight our battles for us!

As He fights my battles, I just get drawn more and more in love with Him. 

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

