Value

A lot of why I thought the way I did is because I assumed others’ thoughts of me. That they think I’m not that valuable. After all, how else can one explain the failed meetups and the lack of availability?

The reality is that not everyone I consider close will consider me close. We have different friends, some of us have more than others. I for one don’t have many, and my fear is that out of the little, even they don’t value me as much as I value them.

In light of this, maybe, I need to let go. Let God take control of non-reciprocal relationships. Let God grow them. He works, I rest. I focus on how I view myself: accepted and accepted in the Beloved (repetition for emphasis).

No matter how much I value them, whether they value me or not doesn’t matter. What matters is how much Christ values me that He gave His life for me. I’m not just forgiven; I’m accepted in the Beloved. I’m assured of this acceptance, unlike friendships in which I’m not assured of my value in their eyes.

If you are reading this today and are down with certain issues, whatever they may be, I want you to know that your value is in Christ. As He is, so are you in this world, regardless of what anyone says. Your best friend might not actually feel the same to you, but you have a Friend who looks at you with infinitely immense love and favor and acceptance and value and worth.

At the cross, Christ took our worthlessness and we received His worth. He took our rejection that we might take His acceptance.

In Christ, you are incredibly valuable. Let that sink in. Live in that truth. Because of this, value people even though they may not reciprocate.

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

