Maturing in Independence

I’ve relied on my parents a lot in the past years, partly because I need to, but partly also cos I’m one lazy bum. I want that to change this year, and here are little changes to my daily lifestyle to attain a bit more than that, progressively.

These goals will snowball over time:

  1. Handle my own skincare, including facial wash, cream(s) and taking medicine at the right time. (not fully)
  2. Spend less than $10 a day. By calculations this allows me to have approximately $3000 by the end of the year which will suffice for my overseas trip in 2018. (check)
  3. Be involved in housework (once my skin and eye conditions are stabilized), such as making the bed (check), washing dishes (not yet), sweeping and mopping the floor (not yet), washing (not yet) and ironing the clothes (not yet), and doing them regularly as part of a routine.

This way not only can I learn to take care of myself but also relieve a bit of workload from my parents. It’s time they rested from their labor, or at least a bit of it. I look forward to the day only my brother and I do the housework.

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

