Bittersweet Tuesday

No, I’m talking about yesterday, but yesterday, 6 years ago. 21 December 2010. Man, it’s been a while, but hey, story time!

The story begins as I left for church camp the Saturday before, when I left for Camp Noise. As an immature 13-year-old, I brought my DS thinking there would be time to play some Mario Kart on the way there and on the way back. There was, so I did just that.

img_1694The camp ended on Tuesday, and on our way back, I knew my day wasn’t over. Right after camp, I had to head over to another church as I was part of their carolling group and we were going to perform somewhere that night. My crush was there, and so I was thrilled to get to see her again after a long time.

As we entered Singapore customs, we were asked to check our belongings. Knowing I had a $270 system in my bag, I ensured it remained where it was, right in my bag. I brought it with me and after entering back into SG took it out to play again. The last stop was back at church where they dropped us off. I gladly left the bus and joyfully celebrated the end of my first ever church camp.

At the church, I got bored and wanted to take out my DS to play. I searched my bag, no DS. Hmm. Weird. I searched again. No DS. Oh crap. I left it on the bus. My leader tried contacting the bus driver but to no avail. Either someone took it (unlikely) or I left it on the bus. There flew $270. My heart sank.

Yet, I took my stuff and walked over to the other church nearby, changed into our carolling T-shirt and met the rest. I was somewhat distraught that my DS was nowhere to be seen but still happy to see her. It’s been a while. The year had been by and large crappy, and we had our fair share of conflict, but I guess at this time we were superficially cool and I cherished every moment of it.

After our set songs, we chilled at the place spamming photos and having a great time. I was awkward as heck and though I wanted a solo photo with her never mustered the guts to ask for one. I didn’t want either of us to face embarassment. But in any case that night really made up for the lost DS.

That was definitely a bittersweet day. Was the DS worth it? Probably not, since it was lost due to carelessness. Did meeting my crush make up for it? Definitely.

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

