What To Do While We Wait

Every time I go to the National Skin Centre for my regular checkup, I always ended up waiting hours for the elderly to be consulted first before I get my turn. This year, I wanted to make every moment count well. Thus, I brought my laptop and prepared Math worksheets in the wait, and before I know it, it was my turn for consultation.

In life, it feels the same. There are swaths of weeks and months where we wait for God to move, and every day fades our hope a little bit more. In my season right now, I am waiting for divine opportunities to catch up with my loved ones, and the Lord consistently reminded me last week to “wait”. Wait on the Lord. The reference is Isaiah 40:31, that those who wait on the Lord will renew their strength. This wait is only good for me, in accordance to God’s plan.

But, just like how I don’t want to waste the time waiting for my consultation, what do we do to make even this season of waiting count? I was asking God this question last Saturday, and He responded with “you no longer live, but Christ who lives in you,” reference from Galatians 2:20. Think about it: it is no longer us who live, but Christ who lives in us, and the lives we now live are by faith in Christ.

In other words: this impatient, unruly “me” is not the real me. The real me is found in Christ. As He is, so am I in this world. In the wait, we discover more of the true self, and to do that, we fix our eyes on Christ. If we wanna discover ourselves, we look at Christ, because in Christ we find our true selves. While waiting, discover more of ourselves in light of the finished work of His Son.

I refer to my “Welcome” profile: As Jesus is, healthy, intelligent, righteous, holy, blameless and (insert any good thing in Philippians 4:8), so am I in this world (1 John 4:17).

In seasons of waiting, wait on the Lord. As He is unveiled in our lives, He will renew our strength, and what we waited for will build us up and point us to Christ, our new selves, not tear us down and point us to our old selves.

—Joel Kindiak, 2 December 2016, 1034H

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

