Emotional Attachment

IMG_2337.JPG

I remember, back in 2009, my crush was the centre of my emotional life. No matter how crappy the day went, so long as I had the chance to travel home with her, my day would be considered ‘good’. Conversely, no matter how smooth the day went, so long as she went home without me or went to hang out with her friends, doing girly teenage stuff without me, it was a bad day. My emotions were directly proportional to the amount of time spent with her.

There is a fine line between genuine care for another person and emotional attachment. The former focuses on blessing the other, the latter focuses on satisfying oneself. The former is willing to forgive multitudes of wrongs, the latter scrutinises every mistake made. The former is patient, the latter isn’t. The former conforms with the descriptions of love in 1 Corinthians 13, the latter satisfies the lusts of the flesh. These principles differentiate the two even though outwardly they are expressed identically.

My general advice to all is what my LGL said, to guard our hearts, and to make sure our intentions are Christ-centered. Keep our focus to build one another up and not to satisfy ourselves. The amazing godly principle is that when the former is our focus, the latter is the fruit, only this time it’s not forced but flows naturally from mutual edification.

-Joel Kindiak, 21 Nov 2016, 1839H

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

