Because You Trust Me

“Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. Take delight in the Lordand he will give you the desires of your heart.” [Psalm 37:3-4]

My first instinct when I saw this verse appearing as tomorrows daily verse is, “No, I cannot send this verse. It will cause people to view God from a prosperity-gospel lens.” Thus, I deleted it from the daily verse list and replaced it with more orthodox teaching on the finished work of Christ.

Up till now, the Holy Spirit has been bugging me to meditate on this verse, specifically verse 4. In the morning, I reasoned that this verse is not meant for everyone, since the spiritually immature will use this verse to twist God’s arm and squeeze Him for blessings without spending time with Him, which as we know is incredibly futile.

This verse kept running through my head throughout the day. The last time these verses came to me was 5 weeks ago. It was during a service. I was troubled with several (confidential) issues and was asking God the cliche “what if” questions. What if this doesn’t happen? What if the situation is not resolved? It was during the response time during service, and I confessed this powerful truth, “Lord, I throw all these things to your hands. Because You are good, I know You will turn it around for my good.”

Then the Lord said, “Because you trust Me, I ensure you, all these (good) things will come to pass.” And in the coming few weeks, He was faithful. I was able to go cycling with a group of close friends, and if you read the post, I briefly talked about having “more to come”. That’s because on the night after cycling, I told God, “Today was just great.” Yet, God responded by saying, “There’s more to come.” Well, more did come, and in recent times I’ve had the privilege of spending time with my close friends more than ever before.

December will be packed for everyone, as I can tell from 18 years of experience. However, I’m trusting God that He meant it when He said that because I trust in Him all these things will come to pass and that there is more to come. If my past meetups were amazing, which they were, how much more our future meetups! I’m believing God to schedule our timetables so that I get to catch up with so many people, building them up and pointing them to Christ in word and deed.

With every meetup, my delight in the Lord grew. When I’m not meeting anyone, I remember that the most important thing is delight in the Lord. God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him (John Piper).  When I have Jesus, I have everything!

God has promised there is more to come, and I rest in Him and His promise, that indeed because my trust is in Him, all these things will come to pass.

As for daily verses, I might consult the Holy Spirit more to write an encouraging yet theologically sound word of encouragement. I’m quite sure this will be sent in 2017 rather than 2016.

-Joel Kindiak, 18 Nov 2016, 1133H

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

