Closeness in Christ

As I continued texting, I realise that somehow our conversations felt very choppy and forced-as though we don’t really want to talk to each other. I wondered why.

I picked up my guitar and started worshipping the Lord. As we texted and my close friend described all the post-Promo excitement, it dawned upon me one crucial missing piece to the puzzle-no mention of God.

And that made me realise one more crucial thing: it is literally IMPOSSIBLE for me to grow close to ANYONE who doesn’t grow close to God. I don’t care whether they are Christians or not. One can claim to follow Christ and not actually do so. Likewise here, a person I esteemed as close to the Lord, definitely not losing salvation, but perhaps distracted by earthly desires that won’t satisfy.

“Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and you will delight in the richest of fare. Give ear and come to me; listen, that you may live. I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful love promised to David.”

[‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭55:2-3‬]

I love the verse in Israel Houghton’s “Your Presence is Heaven”: Nothing in this world will satisfy/Jesus You’re the cup that won’t run dry.

For the first time, I don’t condemn myself for an interrupted conversation. I have been intentional; my conscience is at ease.

I’m not saying that we can’t have fun. I’m saying we can’t have fun without involving Christ in it. Cycling? Sure! Cycling with a context of pointing one another to Christ. Jamming? Sure! Christ-centered jamming to not necessarily Christian songs. Studying? Sure! Build each other up in knowledge and wisdom. Catching up? Christ-centered, and so on.

I realised that I can only have close fellowship with those close to God, and the rest will at most be quality time.

-Joel Kindiak, 15 Oct 2016, 0852 hrs

Author: joelkindiak

Build people up. Point them to Christ.

Leave a Reply

